Why Does South Africa Have Three Capitals?

Why Does South Africa Have Three Capitals

South Africa

South Africa has three capital cities because of the decentralized nature of the South African government. The country is divided into nine provinces, each with its own government, and the capital cities serve as administrative centers for the three branches of the national government: the executive, the legislative, and the judiciary. Pretoria is the administrative capital, where the executive branch is based and where the President’s office is located. Cape Town is the legislative capital, where the Parliament of South Africa meets. Bloemfontein is the judicial capital, where the Supreme Court of Appeals is located. Having three capital cities allows the government to better serve the needs of the country’s diverse population and decentralizes power.

South Africa for Digital Nomads

Related Stories

When Did Apartheid End In South Africa

Who Colonized South Africa

How To Call To South Africa From Usa

What Time Is It In South Africa

What Is The Currency In South Africa

What Was The Divestment Social Movement In South Africa